My future career path

One of my leaders has been working for me for 3 years. She is a local student but has ESL.  She is about to finish her Honours this semester. Her comments today in her fortnightly session report deserve to be shared with the world:

Q: What went well in your sessions this fortnight and why?

A: Last fortnight was amazing. Students have got to know each other more so they simply sat in groups without being asked to. In the sessions, students worked together in groups and it was so wonderful since I only needed to give out some hints and say whether the answers they wrote on the board were correct or not – they just facilitated the discussion among themselves!

The use of puzzles really added fun into the sessions, and it got everyone talking even the shy students.

Q: Is there something you would do differently or improve on next fortnight?

A: Yes  Q: If yes, please describe:

A: There has been a great mix of knowledgeable and struggling students in my sessions. Some people just wanted to do the harder questions but others struggled with the basic idea. I would go through some examples from the lecture notes at the beginning of class rather than at the end so that the students can create links between the formulae and questions.

 

Q: Students lead in U:PASS for a wide variety of reasons – to mentor, to gain leadership skills, to improve communication skills, to get educational experience, to see what it’s like working for UTS.  What’s something you feel you have gained in one (or more) of these areas over the last fortnight? Why? (You may also choose another area if you wish!) 🙂

A: I am enjoying every moment of this experience! It is so hard to believe that this might be my last semester leading in U:PASS. After 3 years, I still find new and interesting things in each and every session. The feeling of being able to help other students and the thought of knowing that I can contribute to students’ success is truly rewarding. Seeing the students working together and asking each other contact for study groups or going to the tutorial together reminded me of what it was like in my first year at uni where I got to know many friends from U:PASS. I definitely believed that this experience has allowed me to realise my future career path.

 

 

There might be a few tears on my part when she leaves.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Georgina Barratt-See

Georgina manages the UTS U:PASS (UTS Peer Assisted Study Success) program, which assists students in 50 first and second year subjects with study sessions run by trained student facilitators. Georgina has 14 years experience in the Higher Education sector with interests in student leadership, mentoring, first year experience, teaching and learning.

Leave a Reply

