Why don’t all new academics get this support?

At the moment, I’m asking leaders who wants to come back in 2014, so that I can then go and recruit the students before they disappear for the summer.

One of the things we ask is about the Senior Leader process and how the new leaders found it. This was one answer (from a nursing student who had an arts student as a mentor):

Q: New leaders only: This semester we trained senior leaders to support you through your first semester. How have you found this process? What has been helpful? Unhelpful? etc.

A: It was a BRILLIANT process! Having a senior leader who I knew I could contact when I needed assistance/debrief/general advice regarding how to run a class more effectively was a great resource to have. I believe it is essential for new leaders. It is a daunting and scary process running your first few classes. The 2 assessments during the semester was a little daunting but I understood that the only way to improve was to have someone I trust observe me and give me constructive feedback which [name removed] did so well and I am so appreciative of her time and input into developing me as a leader. It would be great to have the opportunity to be in her shoes and help in the process of developing and supporting new leaders.

 

So my question is: Why don’t we offer this to new academics?

Tags: , , ,

About Georgina Barratt-See

Georgina manages the UTS U:PASS (UTS Peer Assisted Study Success) program, which assists students in 50 first and second year subjects with study sessions run by trained student facilitators. Georgina has 14 years experience in the Higher Education sector with interests in student leadership, mentoring, first year experience, teaching and learning.

Leave a Reply

