Leaders make great recruiters

I’m going on leave after today for a week, but when I get back, it’s fully into “recruitment” mode. I need approximately 45 new leaders to join the team in 2014.

One of the things I’ve realised over the years is that, similar to this article, my team knows how to smell a rat.  That’s why the Senior Leaders help me with the recruitment. They help because it’s better to have them as well as me. No matter how good I am at recruiting, no matter how many times I do it, it’s better to do with someone else. Even for a low risk position like a casual student leader.

And those Graduate Attributes! My senior leaders can say that they’ve already helped recruit to their future employers!

UTS Graduate Attributes:

  • Critical and independent thinking? TICK
  • Spoken and written communication? TICK
  • Working with others? TICK
  • Cross cultural understanding? TICK
  • Ethical understanding? TICK

Totally winning.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Georgina Barratt-See

Georgina manages the UTS U:PASS (UTS Peer Assisted Study Success) program, which assists students in 50 first and second year subjects with study sessions run by trained student facilitators. Georgina has 14 years experience in the Higher Education sector with interests in student leadership, mentoring, first year experience, teaching and learning.

2 responses to “Leaders make great recruiters”

  1. Skuller Edge says :

    The senior leaders appreciate the opportunity a lot as well I’m sure, it’s a privilege that many likely don’t get until much later in their careers.

    The ‘smelling a rat’ article was quite interesting.

    Have a good break. 🙂

Leave a Reply

