You are becoming an educator – well done

A: As I said in my last report before the Easter break I wanted to try out some new activities in my classes, and so I did. Last week I had three groups in each session write their own physics question, solve it on the back of the page and hand it to the next group for them to solve it. It didn’t work out as well as I had hoped, because most students struggled with focusing on the task of solving the problem, and got stuck with writing a really nice sounding question with fancy things that won’t effectively improve the question. However both days, all three groups managed to write a question and solve at least one question from another group.
This week I decided I will try another activity, especially because we have reached a topic that is a lot more understand based than calculation based as it was before. I prepared 12 questions, the class was split into 4 groups, which each had to answer 3 question that I picked for them. They had half an hour to answer the questions and prepare a poster. In the last twenty minutes each group was given 5 minutes to present their solutions. This time my activity worked really well, students were focused and had great results. Most students told me that they enjoyed this kind of session when I asked at the end of class, although one of the groups seemed not to enjoy it.

Tags: , , ,

About Georgina Barratt-See

Georgina manages the UTS U:PASS (UTS Peer Assisted Study Success) program, which assists students in 50 first and second year subjects with study sessions run by trained student facilitators. Georgina has 14 years experience in the Higher Education sector with interests in student leadership, mentoring, first year experience, teaching and learning.

Leave a Reply

